So that’s the Border Trophy over for another year, with the 4th and concluding round on the Hawick course this evening.

First of all, congratulations to Hawick for the overall title and thank you for hosting another excellent event.

Secondly, massive congratulations to Kelso’s Oscar Onley on an amazing 20:12, a new junior national record and a course record. To achieve this on a relatively slow course on a pretty windy day is nothing short of remarkable.

It was another lovely dry evening with a strong so’westerly making for a challenging outward uphill leg, but the tailwind ride home was an exciting way to end the series.

A good turnout of 10 from Gala were led home by Arran with a great ride. His time and those of all the other Gala riders are as follows.


Arran Gannicott 22:03
Nathan Beard 23:03
Ross Ketteridge 24:24
Neil Shepherd 24:35
Andrew Howett 24:42
Jeremy Weston 25:37
Martin Smith 25:59
Craig Forsyth 26:21
Russell Carson 27:14
Julia Grierson 28:27